Herren Regionalliga Bayern

Ravensburg, 7. Oktober 2017, Bericht: Adam Popperwell


TSV 1847 Ravensburg : München RFC II
17 : 15

It was set to be a great day of rugby for Munich RFC. While the 1sts needed only to travel to unterföhring, the 2nds had to travel to the strange land of baden württemberg. The conditions in Ravensburg were perfect for rugby, dry and sunny day, with soft conditions underfoot . Due to heavy traffic, the game was postponed by 45 minutes to allow the twos to warm up and prepare for a challenging contest.
The long journey was evident in the first few minutes of the game, where passive defence let Ravensburg gain yards. Two minutes, in Ravensburgs game plan paid off when their forwards crashed over for the first try. Starved of possession for most of the first half the 2nds defended well, often stopping Ravensburg on the game line. In the 20th minute, the 2nds finally found the score board from a successful drop goal attempt by Adam Popperwell. Both teams attacked and defended hard, making it a great game of rugby to watch. A few try scoring chances were missed due to ball handling errors. Ravensburg were next to score, from a line out maul, making the score at half time: 10-3.
After the break, more possession and great team work led to a brilliant team try scored by Karl Wolf in the 55th minute (converted by Giacomo). After another 10 minutes of play, an unfortunate high tackle led to Michael Dobson being sin binned. From here, Ravensburg were able to take advantage, scoring a try (and converting it) in the 70th minute. Making the score 17-10. The 2nds responded to this by scoring another strong team try. The pack, working in pods, drew in the Ravensburg defence, allowing the ball to be spun out quickly to Arthur Clegerie, who touched down over the line. Making the score 15-17. Unfortunately, time ran out for the seconds, who overall played some great rugby.

Mannschaftsaufstellung MRFC:
1. Karl Wolf
2. Lucas Mannhardt
3. Jose Manuel Martin
4. Christoph Hille (ab 55.min Christopher Köppen)
5. Michael Dobson
6. Korbinian Vogel
7. Mariano Francolino
8. Miguel Hernandez
9. Giacomo Bernobi
10. Adam Popperwell
11. Stefan Strangmüller (ab 55.min Jamil Habasch)
12. Leandro Gatti
13. James Stockwin (an 48.min Wouter Holtslag)
14. Tobias Mies
15. Arthur Clegerie

Versuche: Karl Wolf, Arthur Clegerie
Erhöhung: Giacomo Bernobi
Dropkick: Adam Popperwell